Impressive application results shown in Micrograph Award 2017

As every year, in 2017 Raith once again invited its customers to enter the Micrograph Award and share their results. Remarkable science is performed with Raith equipment around the world every day, and Raith aims to honor this work with the annual Micrograph Award. Unlike many other competitions that (only) look for “nice” SEM pictures, the focus of Raith’s Micrograph Award goes further: it also takes the application, process technology, and scientific motivation behind the picture into consideration. All submissions are evaluated based on the uniqueness of the nanostructure, the technical quality of the image, and the description of the micrograph. In 2017 we were again amazed by the variety and quality of the application pictures we received. This made the final decision even harder, but after thorough evaluation and discussion we were happy to announce the winners – not only of the first three places, but also of three additional Art Awards.

Micrograph Award Winners 2017

'Actuation and damping of a magneto-optomechanical torque sensor' Paul H. Kim, University of Alberta, Canada

The prize for winning the Micrograph Award 2017 is again a fully sponsored trip to a nanofabrication related conference of choice, and we were happy to award it to Paul Kim from the University of Alberta in Canada for his micrograph “Actuation and damping of a magneto-optomechanical torque sensor.” The SEM picture shows an optomechanical torque sensor designed to study the properties of ferromagnetism and to use magnetic forces to dampen the torsional mode down to 12 K. To integrate an iron needle, two steps of electron beam lithography were used, both performed using the e-beam writer RAITH150 Two.

Second place was won by Sasa Gazibegovic from Delft University of Technology, Netherlands, with the micrograph “Shadow-grown superconducting islands on InSb nanowires.” Place number three also went to the Netherlands: Maurangelo Petruzzella from Eindhoven University of Technology convinced the jury with his micrograph “A pair of single-photon nodes in an integrated circuit.

'Shadow-grown superconducting islands on InSb nanowires' Sasa Gazibegovic, Delft University of Technology (collaborator Roy Op het Veld, Eindhoven University of Technology), Netherlands
'A pair of single-photon nodes in an integrated circuit' Maurangelo Petruzzella, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

The additional Art Awards went to Ripon Dey, University of Waterloo, Canada; Ghada Badawy, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands; and Georg Schmidt, Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany. Check out all the winning micrographs from this and the previous years here.

'Beer glass with bubbles (tapered pillar)' Ripon Dey / University of Waterloo, Canada
'Free-standing InSb Nanoflakes' Ghada Badawy / Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
'Free-standing crystalline oxide nano-resonators' Georg Schmidt / Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany

Raith congratulates all the winners and thanks them warmly for their participation! We are already looking forward to this year´s Micrograph Award. Submission is possible throughout 2018, with final evaluation before the end of the year. Click here to find out about how to enter the Raith Micrograph Award 2018.

Calendar 2018

As is traditional, we used some of the pictures we received for the Raith Micrograph Award to create a calendar for 2018. If you haven’t ordered your free copy yet, you can still do so here.

Back to Overview

Login as registered user: